A coder’s manifesto

A personal manifesto about what I value in developing software and what I think needs to change how we develop software.

Remember the Agile manifesto? What was the most important principle behind it?

User value first

Our highest priority is to satisfy the customer
through early and continuous delivery
of valuable software.
– The agile manifesto

If it doesn’t benefit the user it should not be done. This can be a new feature, a better user interface, a clearer wording, better performance, robustness, … Not all improvements have immediate value but they must have a value at some time. If you look at the craftsman project priorities timely delivery has the most user value for me. (Personal footnote: I think this is where the software craftsmanship movement sets the wrong focus: quality is not the most important thing, user value is). But how do you know what the user might need?

Communication is key

Communication in all parts of software development is a must. You need to talk to your users, your fellow developers and other project partners. What often is neglected is the communication part of the code and the documentation. The primary measure of good code is how well it communicates its intent. How clear it is. Many measure code quality with things like testability, low coupling, coverage, metrics. But clarity and communication are by far the most important. If you can understand what the code does and how and why, you are able to change it. I personally believe that not only the statements but also the formatting of the code and the individual expression, the style, is important. Just as in novels and poetry, the typography emphasizes the meaning, the formatting can do this for the code.
Sometimes the why of decisions cannot be expressed in code this is where documentation comes in. If you have a need to document the what or the how, refactor your code. The importance of communication cannot be understated. Often talking with the user first can save you days and weeks of coding. How?

KISS and YAGNI

Simple and easy. As computer scientist we are trained to solve a problem correctly in all its glory. Every corner case is handled and secured by a test. I think to be more successful as a developer we have to unlearn this. (don’t get me wrong: there are places and software where we need this but the majority of software doesn’t need this) How often did I implement a complete version of a solution to later see that only 80% of it was used. The remaining 20% occur once in a lifetime but needed the most of the development time. If we constraint the problem we can save magnitudes of development time and can invest in more user value. And in…

Developer happiness

Some developers trade development productivity for runtime performance. But we don’t want to code in assembler or C. I happily trade runtime performance for productivity. Productivity means happiness. I am happy when I get things done. If I need to improve the performance I can focus on the parts which need it (remember YAGNI?). Programming languages, frameworks and platforms are not just tools, they are and form our ways of thinking. Tools we use have to help us reaching our goals, so…

Testing is important but just a tool

Testing gives me confidence to change code without breaking things. It helps me to avoid regression. Tests are a great tool. But only a means to an end. The program code is more important than tests, so tests should not force me to make compromises in clarity or communication level of the code. Ideally testing environments should be easy to set up and execute. One thing the recent TDD debate showed me is that we need to focus on the goals we have and the problems we want to solve with our tools. The tools we use should take a front row seat. If they need more focus or effort than the benefit they bring something is wrong. We need to constantly assess if the tools help us to reach our goals. So we have to…

Reflect

The last principle of the agile manifesto is to reflect regularly. What can be done better? How to improve? What did we learn? Often this sounds like a chore. Many times the reflection is omitted. Clean code tries to prevent this with daily reflection. But the set of practices and principles is questionable and carved into stone. So what can be done to make reflection more attractive? One of my suggestions is to keep a

Developer handbook

Reading Small Talk Best Practice Patterns (by Kent Beck) I could not help but have a feeling that this is like a personal developer handbook. In it Kent touches many important aspects of programming like composition of methods, naming and formatting. On top of that he describes his personal experiences and opinions in many of the patterns. I found this really valuable. I think starting with some of these patterns and my own experiences it would be helpful to record them in a personal developer handbook. I can use this book to remember past solutions and reflect on them. I can add my experiences in different projects and contexts to these. The goal is to get better at writing clear code and improve the communication of my code. These records could also help me to make my common habits, patterns, mistakes and approaches to problems explicit and learn from them. This is a personal book but it could also be a team effort or help others. The last part, the conclusion, of the TDD debate has a special insight for me: I should not lean on the masters of software development to advance our field and my development skills in particular. I need to find my own way and many things I take for granted I have to…

Re-think

Kent told an anecdote how he discovered TDD and then it struck me: he had a goal (or a need) in mind and had to find his way. In hindsight it sounds easy but it takes courage and persistence to push through. I think many more problems currently exist in developing software and often we took them for a given, we adjusted us, we accepted them. We cannot imagine a solution for these problems because like the elephant with the rope we never experienced a time without them. But this needs to change. We have to rethink the unsolved or inadequately solved problems and ignore some conventions and habits we formed as developers and as an industry. We have to rethink some of our approaches and assumptions. I believe we can find new ways which improve how we develop software and for this we need to rethink.

One thought on “A coder’s manifesto”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.